OKLAHOMA GUN SAFETY SOLUTIONS 

OKLAHOMA SELF DEFENSE ACT HAND GUN TRAINING 
  (405) 659-5099 Sign up now!  (below)

How do I obtain a license, instructions, process


HOW TO APPLY FOR A SDA LICENSE
Apply On -Line at :

www.ok.gov.osbi/handgun_licensing

Expired Renewals (those whose license expired more than 3 years ago) will follow these instructions,
except for the training requirement.  OSBI maintains record of all training / exemption certificates submitted
and no further proof of training is required.


** EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 1, 2015, the OSBI will no longer accept credit cards on a paper application.

To pay with a credit card you must apply online.  OSBI will still accept cashier's checks and money orders with paper applications.

STEP #1:  Read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

Carefully look at the eligibility requirements, mandatory preclusions and other preclusions to determine if you are qualified to be an SDA license holder.

 

STEP #2:  Complete the required firearms safety and training class or receive an exemption from a certified gun safety instructor.

You will need to send one of the following to the OSBI with your application:

  1. original signed training certificate indicating handgun authorized to carry, issued in the last 3 years, or
  2. original signed exemption certificate, issued in the last 3 years.

 

STEP #3:  Apply online or complete an application. (Applications are also available at sheriffs' offices or by emailing the OSBI.)

 

STEP #4:  Upload a color photo or attach two (2) color, passport style photographs to your application.

NO PERSONALLY PRINTED PHOTOGRAPHS WILL BE ACCEPTED.

Photo service may be available at your sheriff’s office for a fee not to exceed $10.00.

 

STEP #5:  Take the online summary sheet or completed application, photographs, and required fees to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live. 

 

THE SHERIFF WILL:

VERIFY APPLICANTS AGAINST PHOTOS SUBMITTED AND THEIR OK DL.

TAKE TWO SETS OF FINGERPRINTS.

SUBMIT BOTH SETS OF FINGERPRINTS , COMPLETED APLLICATION, PHOTOS AND YOUR HAND GUN SAFETY CERTIFICATE OR

EXEMPTION AND PROCESSING FEE TO OSBI WITHIN 14 DAYS OF TAKING FINGERPRINTS.



 

FEES AND FORMS OF PAYMENT

    A money order or cashier’s check in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) made payable to the sheriff covers the fee for fingerprinting and local agency criminal history record checks conducted by the Sheriff’s Office;  the table below represents BELOW fees to be paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.




Acceptable forms of payment include Money Orders, Cashier’s Checks, Electronic Funds Transfer, Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover.

NO PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS CHECKS OR CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED.

** EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 1, 2015, the OSBI will no longer accept credit cards on a paper application.  To pay with a credit card you must apply online.  OSBI will still accept cashier's checks and money orders with paper applications.




Fees to be paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

 

OSBI Licence fee
RESULTS
APPROVED APPLICANTS WILL RECEIVE THEIR LICENSE AT THE MAILING ADDRESS  LISTED ON THE APPLICATION VIA FIRST CLASS MAIL.
DENIED APPLICANTS WILL RECEIVE WRITTEN NOTIFICATION BY FIRST CLASS MAIL!
PLEASE ALLOW 60-90 DAYS FOR PROCESSING ONCE OSBI HAS RECIEVED THE COMPLETE APPLICATION.
INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS CAN NOT BE PROCESSED AND ALL PROCESSING FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.